The only self-help book that actually changed my life

Why most self-help books don’t work?

Farhan Ahmed
2 min readJul 19, 2021
How the Self-Help Industry Ruins Everything

I have always been into the realm of self-help, whether it’s through watching Youtube videos or reading books.

However, my observation has been that only one book has worked out for me so far.

“The Power of Now” by Eckhart Tolle is what I am talking about. This book contained all the answers I was looking for and provided me with the knowledge that I could implement in my life.

Very few books can do that. Most of them are just theoretical stories and pep talks. This book contains the supreme truth explained in easy language.

How did it change my Life?

Ever read a book and felt that your personality has changed and you’re something different now? That’s exactly what this book did for me. It opened up a portal for me to start understanding myself better.

What’s the difference between this book and others?

Other self-help and growth books just contain tips and techniques that one should by utilizing but these tips do not work out for everyone; especially those who are deeply depressed or have complex problems. Tips and techniques are for those who are wounded on the surface level.

The ones that are deeply depressed, need cognitive rewiring and understanding of their own self and that does not come through tips and techniques. This is why most self-help books are a wastage of time. People need in-depth and comprehensive self-help books; not the ones with tips like “Take care of yourself”. Really? A person is having suicidal thoughts and you’re saying that? You have to do better than that.

“The Power of Now” is a self-help book that contains an in-depth explanation of the inner dimensions of a human being in simpler words. Just by reading it, one can experience what is discussed in the book.

The reason why most self-help books fail

The sad truth is, people have started to write self-development books just for selling them, not because they want to enlighten and help their readers. It’s more of a business now. This is why most self-help books do not work out for anyone. They aren’t articulate and as comprehensive as we need them to be. There’s an interesting dialogue going on in the world about, “Fake Gurus”, and the self-help industry falls into this category. However, there are a few gems that still write comprehensive self-help books which change the lives of readers as well. You should try their books as I have.

More content coming soon!

--

--